Sunday, May 30, 2010

2010 Southland Conference in Review

Here is a quick look at the 2010 Southland Conference in review.

Regular Season Champion - Texas State Bobcats

Tournament Champion - Lamar Cardinals

League’s Automatic Bid to NCAA - Lamar Cardinals

Player of the Year - Michael Choice (UT-Arlington)

Hitter of the year - Michael Choice (UT-Arlington)

Pitcher of the Year - Carson Smith (Texas State)

Relief Pitcher of the Year - Chad Sheppard (Northwestern State)

Freshmen of the Year - Ryan Dalton (UT-San Antonio)

Newcomer of the Year - Carson Smith (Texas State)

Coach of the Year - Johnny Cardenas (Stephen F. Austin)

The Southland Conference had one 40 game winner as Southeastern finished the season with a 40-19 overall record.

The Southland Conference had six teams finish with 30 plus wins (Southeastern 40, Texas State 38, Northwestern State 36, Lamar 35, Stephen F Austin 34, and McNeese State 31).

2010 Final Standings
Texas State (23-10)
Northwestern State (22-10)
Southeastern (21-12)
Stephen F Austin (20-12)
UT-Arlington (19-14)
Lamar (16-17)
McNeese State (16-17)
Nicholls State (15-18)
UTSA (13-20)
Sam Houston (11-22)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (10-22-1)
Central Arkansas (10-22-1)

No comments: